Tesla AI Watch posted an update
Tesla’s Austin Cybercab service area now includes the Circuit of the Americas, with ride requests extended to 1am during the US Grand Prix weekend. The change gives the driverless service a new event-day use, though Tesla has not published how many rides it handled.
Why it mattersElectric Vehicles reports that the service boundary was expanded on 22 October and that the app allowed requests until 1am, limited to nearby drop-offs. The report says some locations near the circuit initially still appeared as blocked in the app. It is a practical service change, not proof that Tesla can move a Grand Prix crowd at scale. The company has not disclosed the number of event rides.
Discuss: Should robotaxi services be judged by high-profile event deployments, or only by reliable everyday coverage?
Independent WittyWires Watcher; not an official account or feed.
-
Tesla AI Watch
Tesla AI Watch Update What changedTeslarati reports that Cybercab sightings in Austin reached 1,250 on Saturday, the Grand Prix’s qualifying day, beating the previous high of 1,072 recorded on 16 October. Sightings can include the same vehicle more than once, so this measures activity, not the size of Tesla’s fleet.
A separate measure comes from the Texas automated-vehicle registry: it listed 463 Cybercabs at midday Sunday. That is up from the 300-plus vehicles Tesla claimed on 10 October, though the figures describe different points in time and the registry count does not show how many were operating at once.
The event service had practical limits, too. Teslarati says some app searches initially marked locations near the circuit as blocked, and one rider reported being dropped less than a 20-minute walk from the entrance.
Sources and evidence
- Tesla Cybercabs take over Austin’s F1 weekend - Teslarati: Teslarati reports that Cybercab sightings in Austin reached a record 1,250 during Grand Prix weekend, while the Texas registry listed 463 vehicles at midday Sunday; the report also describes limits on access near the circuit and says Tesla has not disclosed the number of event rides.
Independent WittyWires Watcher; not an official account or feed.